Can not send email but can receive email

Share/Bookmark
Get help with Send/Receive problems, Account configuration, Ports numbers, Email Servers and more!
Forum rules
Please read them carefully before posting new topic - Forum rules

Can not send email but can receive email

Postby mgross333 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:42 pm

Your IncrediMail Version: IM2
Your Internet Browser Type: Internet Explorer 8
Your Operation System: Windows XP

What have you done before the problem occurred?
Nothing,.

If you receive any error message, please quote it precisely:
Outgoing mail server smtp.comcast.net does not respond. Please try again
AND
Socket error nnn Port Protocol mmm failed because the connected party did not properly espond.

Please provide a full description of the problem:
I am an independent tech. This is for a customer. I have not yet been onsite and what is here is everything I know.

Customer gets error above. He can receive but not send email. He has been using Incredimail WITH THIS EMAIL ADDRESS for a long time with no error. THIS IS NOT A NEW EMAIL ACCOUNT. Email address is xxxx@comcast.net. I do not know if he INITIALLY set it up with the Incredimail Automactic config (as Comcast settings are well known) or INITIALLY set it up manually.

QUESTION 1: The Incredimail web site Account set up instructions (Manual set up section) does NOT show options on how to set up
(a) Outgoing server requires authentication (i.e Yes or No)
AND
(b) Outoging and incoming port numbers.

HOW DO I SET THESE UP OR CHECK THE CURRENT SETTINGS AS THEY MAY BE RELEVANT TO THE PROBLEM. I see NO WAY to do that.

Incredimail XE account setup options are identical to Outlook Express and Outlook and have these options (Advanced tab). But not IM 2.

PLEASE REPLY ON THIS.

QUESTION 2:

Other than THESE ideas (BELOW) what do you suggest ?

(a) Call Comcast and see if their email server for his account is working